Powers Park has held a unique position in the town of Lyndonville since 1915 when the first pond was completed for local children to learn to swim. Washington Irving Powers willed $13,000 to the town of Lyndon, which purchased a 25-acre grove from the Boston and Maine Railroad.
While the grove had been used for revival meetings, quilting bees and horse-trading, Mr. Powers envisioned a much larger park with a playground, a picnic area and nature trails. His daughter was a member of the Lyndon Village Improvement Society (VIS), which performed beautification projects throughout town. Through that parent organization a swimming pond, pool house, changing rooms and bathrooms were added to become 'Powers Park'.
In the 1950's, an in-ground swimming pool and two tennis courts were constructed. The existing pool and filtration system were built in 1985 with the help of a grant from the Land Water Conservation Fund. In 1986, VIS acquired its 501(3)c status for the sole purpose of running the summer recreation programs for the local community, and maintaining the Park for community use year-round.
In 2016, we again were awarded the LWCF grant for $50,000 and with the help of many generous donations and a $25,000 appropriation from the town, we were able to finish $100,000 in pool surface and bathhouse renovations.